Defensive Carry banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, this may be the stupidest question ever posted on this board but I honestly don't know the answer.

I am new to carrying and have an M&P 9c which I am looking to get night sights added (when the money fairy shows herself again). I am also looking to get a backup gun for times when the 9c is too big or heavy, currently looking at either Kahr PM9 (and adding night sights) or Sig P238 (comes with night sights).

Here is the question. Are they bright enough to be seen through some clothing? I carry my 9c IWB, would I have to worry about the sights glowing through the shirt? How about the P238 in a pair of Dockers? I have never seen the night sights in action (in a darker setting), so I really have no idea.

·
Registered
248 Posts
cant speak to either of those guns, but I have had no issues with glowing through my shirt with my factory added glock night sights... Thery are not there to shine crazy bright.. just enough to aim at a target.

·
Registered
368 Posts
I dont have night sights, but I would think if they were bright enough to show through clothing they would be too bright to look through and still see the target

i'd say they're probably closer to the glowing hands or hour markers on your watch

·
Registered
791 Posts
I've had no problems with night sights being seen through clothing. And I have TFO's, which IMHO are some of the brightest sights out there.

·
Registered
4,215 Posts
Walrus. Night sights are for low light conditions & should be shot at low light
to see how they work, they are no substitute for a good flashlight ; ) H/D

·
Registered
1,974 Posts
nope never had that issue. They glow they don't project light.

·
Registered
221 Posts
I got made by a couple Pilots from my flight school while working on an airplane that broke at 10 at night because of my night sights.