Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16,094 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been reloading since 1980-81 and I know there are some here that have been reloading just as long, if not longer.
So I have an idea where to start, but want some input from experience.

The gist of it is, if you have a round that shoots accurately out of two revolvers and is pathetic out of a rifle, what one component or step would you first address?

The specifics are 327 Fed Mag, a straight walled cartridge.
Seated to SAMI specs using 100gr LSWC cast bullets bought from a manufacturer.
Middle of the range powder charge.
And I ruled the rifle out by shooting some factory loads through it. Slightly lighter bullet, slightly more velocity, SJSP.

Granted, the handguns were shot at less than half the range, 8-10yds. The rifle shot at 25. And the handguns offhand while the rifle was sort of rested. Not on bags, but I was sitting in my UTV with the rifle on the steering wheel. Pretty stable.

My first thought is to change up the bullet. I do have some XTP bullets. But I'm really hoping it isn't the bullet or I'll have to load one way for the rifle and another for handgun to use them up. I always like the loads to be interchangeable between rifle or handgun if they shoot the same cartridge. But I've never run into this before. Not for a general use (non-precision) set of guns. The rifle is literally throwing them (the handloads) all over the place. No keyholing anyway.

That's why I'm leaning towards the bullets.

So what say ye?
What is the one component most likely to turn a decent handload out of two guns into a poor choice in a third?

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
From my experience with reloading I'd consider changing the powder. The burn rate in a pistol vs the longer barrel of a rifle, and the varying FPS resulting from that may have an effect on accuracy.

·
Registered
2,234 Posts