Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright guys, I'm about to get real with you all. So I'm a person in substance abuse recovery, and a few concerns came up in apply for applying for my permit when i hit a year clean.
I have been charged with domestic violence (lame charge came home drunk and my mom wouldnt let me leave the house and kept trying to push me inside, cop pulled up as i pushed her out of my way to get her off me. In FL if cops see someone touched for a domestic call someone has to go), but It was dismissed before i even saw the judge.

I have been baceracted (over dosed on xanax and southern comfort, was considered a danger to myself not a danger to other)

And if they look at my insurance records It'll show that I've been to a few rehabs, the Last one i went to will be a year ago on 12/23/16


Can i still get my CCW? heres a link of the website that made me concerned

Eligibility Requirements / Concealed Weapon License / Licensing / Divisions & Offices / Home - Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services

edit to add more information, I have never been arrested for possesion of drugs, I Chose to go to rehab for help, it wasnt court ordered. And i completed the baceraction with out issue and they released me.
I will have a year sober on chirstmas eve of this year. And I have no convictions on my record at all.

please give me some good news guys.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
327 Posts
Speaking as someone that's been clean for more than a few 24 hour periods and has also been through rehab, I had no trouble with my CPL in Michigan. Since the domestic violence charge was dismissed it should not be an issue, and if the rehab was voluntary it also shouldn't hold you back. To be certain, ask an attorney that handles 2nd amendment issues in your county many will give you a free 30 minute consultation and that may be all that you need.

Everyone you meet knows something you don't.
- H. Jackson Brown
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Alright guys, I'm about to get real with you all. So I'm a person in substance abuse recovery, and a few concerns came up in apply for applying for my permit when i hit a year clean.
I have been charged with domestic violence (lame charge came home drunk and my mom wouldnt let me leave the house and kept trying to push me inside, cop pulled up as i pushed her out of my way to get her off me. In FL if cops see someone touched for a domestic call someone has to go), but It was dismissed before i even saw the judge.

I have been baceracted (over dosed on xanax and southern comfort, was considered a danger to myself not a danger to other)

And if they look at my insurance records It'll show that I've been to a few rehabs, the Last one i went to will be a year ago on 12/23/16

I will have a year sober on chirstmas eve of this year.

Can i still get my CCW? heres a link of the website that made me concerned

Eligibility Requirements / Concealed Weapon License / Licensing / Divisions & Offices / Home - Florida Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
You don't say when the committal under the Baker Act occurred. If it was within the past 3 years you will certainly be disqualified as you are certainly ineligible.

If not, with everything else you have going on, you may need to consult with an attorney if you are disqualified as it's not as black and white.

The DV incident, if it occurred exactly as you described, is not a factor.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
251 Posts
Best advice we can give you is talk to a lawyer. Any LEGAL advice you might get here other than that will be worth exactly what you have paid for it. Some of our County Sheriffs are NOT very 2A friendly.

Good Luck.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Thank you guys, I apperciate it, I'm actually good friends with the cop who baceracted me so I might just go ask him. He wants me to go with him to school and talk about addiction and getting clean and all that. And i got baceracted 3 days before i went into rehab so it would have been on 12/20/15. I just dont want to spend to apply and get denied.

And yes the DV went as said, my mom didnt want them to arrest but they had too, she got me lawyer and he got it dismissed. It was dismissed because i went to rehab on my own free will, it does say on the police report that i was intoxicated when it happened.

I also got released within the 72 hour time frame and i need to check but im pretty i wasnt diagnosed with any mental issues
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
384 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,890 Posts
:popout2:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
631 Posts
I read somewhere that you are supposed to be clean from drugs for 5 years to purchase a gun. But I was probably drunk when I read that. Don't know Florida conceal laws.

615x24 here
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,890 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,726 Posts
Contact an attorney, and maybe let Sarah know no one here tried to bypass the legal system.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
598 Posts
IMHO - Looking at the personal information you have provided, and Florida ineligibility criteria, it doesn't look good for you. However, my personal opinion carries zero weight with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. The best advice has already been given, and that was to consult a good 2A lawyer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,716 Posts
Good Luck! If things don't go right in the election it may be rough for you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
I mean it is what it is. I know people in recovery from when i lived in a halfway house who have CCws and own guns, but i dont know if they had been baker acted or not.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,890 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
I did, but im still confused because i baker acted as a danger to myself, but i wasnt deemed a danger to anyone or myself when i left. I'm waiting for the lawyer to email me back.

I'm not very good at reading comprehension lol, is this saying I'm good since the doctor claimed i was mentally stable?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,890 Posts
The way I read the rules you have to wait 3 years.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
I did, but im still confused because i baker acted as a danger to myself, but i wasnt deemed a danger to anyone or myself when i left. I'm waiting for the lawyer to email me back.

I'm not very good at reading comprehension lol, is this saying I'm good since the doctor claimed i was mentally stable?
The way I read the rules you have to wait 3 years.
Bingo. OP, the law is unusually clear and contains no ambiguity based on your own statement. You are ineligible to apply for a Florida CCW until 12/20/2018. An involuntary committal is what it is.

Now consulting with an attorney to see if they can petition on your behalf somehow and get relief from that 3 year requirement or have the committal characterized differently maybe, that's a good idea. However, make no mistake. You are absolutely ineligible as it stands and you will want to be cautious about rationalizing before you apply. You need to let an attorney do that and not take the chance. That's my advice anyway. Good luck.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
Alright i Apperciate it, Im going to see what this lawyer says since i already emailed him. But im just going to assume im stuck for a little over 2 more years. Would i still be able to own a gun before then? I'm sorry I'm so much trouble with all this guys. I cant seem to make sense of it, its making me second guess if i wanna go back to college lol
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,704 Posts
I did, but im still confused because i baker acted as a danger to myself, but i wasnt deemed a danger to anyone or myself when i left. I'm waiting for the lawyer to email me back.

I'm not very good at reading comprehension lol, is this saying I'm good since the doctor claimed i was mentally stable?
Maybe I'm reading the law different than some other members. What I read is that if you voluntarily acted the law is not applicable. I may have missed another section that is an exception to this.

Applicability of the law
The law does not apply to persons in the following circumstances:
Persons entering a facility on voluntary status and
remaining on voluntary status regardless of their
potential imminent dangerousness. The Baker Act law
and multiple appellate cases place no duty on mental
health professionals to initiate involuntary status even if
the criteria for involuntary status is documented.
 
  • Like
Reactions: slim_jim
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
Top