Defensive Carry banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I am a 5'9" 450lb man and I am relatively new to the CWP community. I live in South Carolina and that is where I have my permit. It is my understanding that you must have your weapon concealed in the state of South Carolina. Being large, it is difficult to conceal if the gun is outside my waistband. Can anybody offer me any type of advice regarding what type of holster I should be looking for? My gun has a 4 inch barrel. It's an FNH 9mm handgun similar to the glock 17.
Thank you in advance. I appreciate it.

·
Registered
4,401 Posts
I'm about 265lbs but stand around 6'4", and I have a G17 I carry. The FN you have might work well in a Gould & Goodrich Inside the Waist Band Holster. Midway Online shows an example of one under product # 385909. I have used them before and they are great. You may have to contact G&G to order one for the FN if they make one for your particular sidearm. By the way........

Welcome from Tennessee.......the "Patron State of Shootin' Stuff!"

Reactions: eltomoisblessed

·
Registered
2,933 Posts
I am 6'2" and have ranged between 230 and 260. Goes up and down. I carry a 9mm in a Smart Carry AIWB. I love it. It takes a little getting used to with a gut, but I made that adjustment fairly quickly. Good luck finding something that works for you.

·
Banned
2,289 Posts
Before I lost 50 lbs I had problems too. Pocket carry was and is still the easiest way for me to carry. I have your gun and find it too big for ccw. It is my home defense gun. Try a Kahr CM9 or Sig P938, both in 9mm. I also carry the XDs. I it nice and flat plus it is a .45. Also, depending on your shape, my weight was all in my stomach, the 4:30 position right behind your hip bone is usually indented and a great place to put a holster.