Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I recently started carrying a Walther PPQ M2 in 9mm back in March, which means I'm a newbie. I've started looking into furthering my training and increasing my range time, so I need to purchase more ammo.

I started out with 1000 rounds of Speer Gold 147 grain JHPs because I found them for a good price. I'm down to about 300 of those rounds and I want to go a little more sparingly in their use, or use them up and switch to a different grain size if necessary.

Since I carry 147 grain JHPs, should I shoot 147 grain ball ammo or will 115/124 grain ball ammo be sufficient?

Also, is 147 grain a good size for defensive purposes? I made my decision initially based off the deal I found and a couple .45 vs 9mm discussions where is was mentioned numerous times that heavier, slower rounds have less risk of over-penetration while still getting the job done. So is 147, 124 or 115 grains preferred for defensive use in 9mm?

·
Registered
423 Posts
You will get varying opinions based on many things. Practicing with range ammo of the same bullet weight of your HD/SD carry ammo would help with consistency in POA/POI. Weight also affects velocity, so there's that to consider. Some people change weights based on season, using a higher weight bullet during the colder months. I personally practice with and will carry 124 grain rounds. Like you, I will be carrying Speer. Mine are the Gold Dot +P rounds that I keep loaded in mine for HD.

·
Registered
182 Posts