Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Confidence - reliability: will it feed, eject and go bang every time?
Control - can you handle it comfortably and fire it accurately?
Concealability - can you hide it well, even in summer clothes?
Comfort - will your holster be comfy sitting, bending, driving?
Caliber - obviously bigger is better
Capacity - obviously more is better
Cost - both initial cost and the cost to practice

Recognizing EVERYTHING involves a trade-off, i.e. that a larger gun has more capacity and better control but is less concealable and less comfortable. One that costs less may be less reliable. Bigger caliber means less capacity.

This (above) is how I would order these factors, but I'm a newbie and am curious to know if those more experienced would have different priorities or add additional factors...

Fred

·
Registered
7,421 Posts
For me it's really just three Cs for CC.

Comfort, caliber and how easy it is to conceal, pretty much in that order.

GBK

·
Registered
1,751 Posts
there is nothing obvious about caliber "the bigger the better"...a smaller caliber gun may be easier to control therefore more likely to hit its target multiple times in a short period if necessary...the statement that larger calibers have more capacity and better control is not necessarily a true statement...it can be confusing enough in here and this post will probably start an interesting and old battle...but htere are too many variables involved to make a generalized statement like that...

capacity...smaller calibers generally have more capacity...smaller size guns have less capacity in the same caliber...

could go on all day with those statements...

·
Registered
506 Posts
One more C = "Will you really carry?"

There's a lot you can and maybe will do on an occasional basis that you simply won't do day-in and day-out.

pax

·
Premium Member
4,330 Posts
Good first post Fred! :wave:

Hope to hear more from you. :hand10: