Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading an would like to know which book Ineed to buy to get the oal and powder charts. I have a new dillon 550

·
Registered
467 Posts
Lee of course, great info. on steps of reloading Speer #14 mine is on the way, I had # 12, and wanted to update, was backordered for 3 months.
Speer in my opinion is the bible of reloading. It's so easy to read, anyone can do it. My opinion.

·
Registered
988 Posts
I have three: Speer, Hornady and a Nosler which I picked up at a good price at an estate sale. I agree with having more than one.

·
Registered
2,560 Posts
I plan on getting a couple more but right now I have Hogdons. I use their powder so I use their annual manual to.

·
Premium Member
7,276 Posts
If you want lead data, then for sure get Lyman's. It's a good one, regardless, but it's the only one with cast data. Otherwise, any two will do (yeah, I do second the 'buy two' philosophy).

·
Super Moderator
19,908 Posts
If you want lead data, then for sure get Lyman's. It's a good one, regardless, but it's the only one with cast data. Otherwise, any two will do (yeah, I do second the 'buy two' philosophy).
Not entirely true... the Lee manual has boatloads of recipes for cast bullets.

·
Registered
2,297 Posts
Get at least two. My standards are the Lyman, the Hornady, and the Lee. There's enough difference among them that you really need more than one.
Yep, the more information you have at your fingertips, the better. I use Lyman, Hornady and Speer. The best one (that I have experience with) is the Lyman book. I haven't looked at the Lee book so I can't comment on that one.

·
Registered
36,326 Posts
Ditto, gasmitty's remarks.

Have two myself, the Lyman and the Lee. It's important to compare various formulas, as typos exist here and there. Along with The ABC's Of Reloading, these work well enough for a newbie.

·
Premium Member
6,726 Posts