Defensive Carry banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please tell me I did not make a mistake and buy a rust bucket. I went to XD talk last night and it seems that there is an issue with the XD's rusting, so much, they have a specific section of the forum just for it. Whats done is done, and I have to live with it, but please tell me the issue is not as bad as it seems.

·
Registered
76 Posts
I'm by no means an expert on the subject, but I believe that the rust was an issue only with the 1st batch of XDs. Springfield made some changes to the melonite coating after the initial production yielded poor corrosion resistance.

FWIW, I've had my XD40sc (stainless slide) for over three years now and have never had a problem. A buddy of mine has two, both melonite coated, that he has had for the same length of time with no problems. You might want read the post more carefully to see if they are indeed referring to the first production batch.

BJC

·
Registered
473 Posts
No problems here. You could always get it refinished, doesnt cost too much to do that.

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the replies. I know Springfield was refinishing those that the people complained about, but even then from reading they were developing issues. I hope mine (as soon as I get it out of lay a way in a week or 2) does not have the issues.

·
Registered
38 Posts
They are doing a different finish now, it was the earlier ones that had problems. First step contact Springfield, they have been really good to their customers. A new one? I wouldnt worry at all.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I'm by no means an expert on the subject, but I believe that the rust was an issue only with the 1st batch of XDs. Springfield made some changes to the melonite coating after the initial production yielded poor corrosion resistance.