Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
n00b here! I did an extensive search on here regarding my situation and learned a lot, so I'm glad to have found this forum. A little background: I'm an Air Force pilot, born/raised/stationed in Texas, looking for my first handgun for self defense. I plan on taking the CHL class soon, but I'm not sure if I'll use my gun for concealed carry. It'll be more of a home/auto defense firearm that me and my wife can enjoy at the range.

I did a lot of research in the past, and based on my budget, I was really set on the XDM 40 (assuming I liked it after firing it). This past week, my father and I went to the range and I shot his P229 for the first time and LOVED it. He told me he would pay for half of whatever gun I chose, so now the Sig is an option for me.

We went to a local gun shop and I got to handle a lot of the handguns I was looking at. The XDM seemed a little too plasticy to me, and didn't feel as solid as the Sig. I also have small, girlish hands so the shorter grip on the Sig worked better for me and my wife. One concern is the shop employee noticed the DA/SA trigger on the 229 seemed too forward for my wife, since she almost had to have her index finger completely extended to pull the trigger for the first round. I hear there's a short trigger than will lessen this distance.

So my questions really concern the overall pros & cons of the 229/239 vs. the XDM. Quality, reliability, safety, etc. I've only shot the 229 out of the bunch, and haven't even picked up a 239 as I only learned of it from reading this board. I will eventually shoot them all before I decide, but I wanted to hear the opinions of the experts. If you're still reading this, thanks!

I'd also like to add that I haven't really decided on the .40 vs. the 9mm, but I don't want to go down that road. I'm just focusing on the model right now.

·
Registered
136 Posts