Defensive Carry banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been pondering this issue for quite a few months... What do most people prefer, to carry comfortably or to carry and have more firing capacity?

I have an M11-A1 that I think is a phenomenal firearm, its reliable, accurate and I can hit targets well beyond 11 yards. I love the fact that its got such a low recoil and is such perfect made gun but recently I heard this statement, "every round is a potential lawsuit" and it has me thinking...

When I took my conceal carry class, the instructors–both LE instructors, emphasized having capacity and accuracy, the idea that a longer barrel creates better accuracy for many, which I sorta find true.

I had a P938 awhile back and couldnt hit anything accurately at 11 yards so I sold it... Since then, I was told most confrontations that will lead to firearm use are usually within 7 yards so I bought another 938. The 938s weight is nice, its so easy to wear but I worry about my accuracy with it beyond 7 yards; is it a matter or range time?

In AZ, our summers get 105°+ and I would really like to make the 938 my EDC but I have apprehensions because I can't really do well with it beyond 7 yards. Do I suck it up? Do I get used to carrying the M11? I know I can trust the M11 in any scenario, its just the weight and size that throws me off from carrying it daily.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,957 Posts
Well, I carry a P229 and a P938 most days. Doesn't matter if it's 100deg or 20deg.

Like you, I'm not nearly as good a shot with the 938 as I am with the 229. But both serve a clear purpose as primary and backup.

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
More practice. That said, I do all my practice at 7 yards unless I'm screwing around. Sometimes when you switch between platforms (for example DA/SA to SAO) you have to go back to basics and work on your trigger pull.