Defensive Carry banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I'm new to guns and this is partly I'm asking. I know the difference between a double action only (DOA like my Glock) and single action only (SAO like a 1911), but what's this I see on the SIG website for SAS and DAK? I know they have single action versions because I've seen them, but I'd like some elaboration if that's alright. I've been looking at the p239.

·
Registered
2,046 Posts
Without a huge elaboration (try a search), DAK is Sig's version of a DAO trigger. SAS means Sig Anti Snag. It basically is Sig's treatment of the gun to round off all the sharp lines an edges to make for a better concealed carry gun.

Hoss

·
Registered
1,513 Posts
The SAS stands for Sig Anti-Snag. They do the "melt job" on the slide, and dehorn other things like the sights and hammer. It is a Double Action/Single Action pistol, so it's going to fire DA if the hammer is down, and SA if it's cocked.

The DAK is Double Action Kellerman. It's a double action only with a few features. It has a light pull weight when a round is chambered because it's at quarter cock kind of. When you pull the trigger, one of three things can happen...if you have a light strike on the primer the hammer will drop and stay there, because the slide didn't move back to quarter cock it. You will have a slightly heavier trigger pull for a second strike. If the round fires, which it should, you can let the trigger out halfway, it will reset and you get another slightly heavier pull, with a shorter stroke. You can also let it out all the way, and it will reset to the normal trigger pull. Sounds a little complex, but it's really simple, very smooth, and I love it.

·
Registered
289 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Alright. I really hated to start a thread on it, but I was trying via Google and couldn't find out what it meant. Since SIG has single action guns, I thought SAS was their version of single action.

·