Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the gun world and only have one right now. But before I have a small arsenal, I want to know what are the best ways to sell them to other good guys, if I needed to. A bill of sale, copy of drivers license, check for CCP, etc, what are the steps that need to be followed besides just collecting a wad of cash?

·
Registered
335 Posts
Nothing is required for a personal sale of a firearm. If it makes you feel better, you can create a bill of sale and include the personal information of the buyer.

·
Registered
46 Posts
I just sold my Kahr 40 to a local city cop...I made up 2 bill of sales ...put my name/address/phone/date

then I put his name/address/phone/date...

we both signed it and then he got a copy...I got a copy....done...

Steve

·
Registered
145 Posts
I don't know if this answers your question adequately or not -
It always seemed to me that playing it safe was worth maybe losing a few buck on a sale, so when I decided to sell my FNP40 and buy a Beretta, I just traded it in at an FFL. Easy transaction, clean, if the next owner has any problems it's Gander Mt's problem, etc. I feel I got a fair price from them, and like I say it was easy.

·
Banned
13,684 Posts
Specific web forums such as this one usually have a B/S/T forum. Many place ads in the local newspaper classifieds (I've done this a time or two). There are a few free sites for classifieds firearm listings such as this one: Gun Classifieds | Free Local Used and New Gun Classified Listings. Pistols, Rifles, Shotguns, Antique and Collectible Guns, and Gun Accessories. - gunlistings.org
You could always rent a table at a local gun show for $40-$50. Some local gun dealers around here will let you sell on consignment as well. Many opportunities. Private sales are still legal in most places.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I don't know if this answers your question adequately or not -