Defensive Carry banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I received my new Remora IWB holster today and started carrying my S&W SD40VE. I know it is large but it tucks away nicely under my T-Shirt. To me it was like carrying one of my knives in my pocket, just another tool that I hope I will never need. Wife and I walked around and I showed her some really nice .380 LCP Rugers and Kel-Tecs. She also has her carry permit and we are looking for something smaller.....and I am still looking for that elusive .40 Cal M&P Shield. I am sure that will carry nicely compared to this SD40VE.

·
Premium Member
9,568 Posts
Odd feeling the first few times but you quickly habituate and don't event think of carrying....unless you aren't for some reason.

·
Registered
12,686 Posts
Good habits are just as hard to break as...bad habits. Congrats on both you & your wife's decision to form a GOOD habit.

·
Premium Member
24,511 Posts
I've been carrying for 15 years now, the last 4 I have been able to carry at work, so am armed from the time I get up, until I go to bed. once you get used to it, you do feel naked without it.

·
Registered
357 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·

·
Registered
265 Posts
It's great to have 2 more players on the team. Stay safe.

·
Registered
2,284 Posts
I have a S&W M&P45 and love it, but it is too large for me to carry very often. After being armed 30+ years in LE, my first consideration for an EDC is "WEIGHT", which, for me, maxes around 22 ounces. I like my Colt Defender .45acp best, but I have other .45s I carry, too.

Living in the Heartland, it can get very hot, so then I go to a smaller 9mm, .38spec, .357 Mag, and sometimes, even my Kel-Tec .380acp with belt/pocket clip.

My wife liked my Kel-Tec so much, after shooting a box of my +P, JHP, XTP rounds, she took it away from me... so I had to get myself another one for those triple digit days, funerals, or when much discretion is needed.