Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
280 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got stopped for speeding today, 60 in a 55 out in the country. He turned on his lights and I pulled off as soon as I got to a spot where I could. Turned off the radio, opened the window and put my hands on the wheel. He came up and said he had stopped me for speeding and that was when I said I have a CHL and am carrying a gun. (damn I said the G word!) He asked where it was and I replied in my front RH pocket. He thanked me for telling him and said fine can I have your license. I said it is in my RH rear pocket (second not good thing damn!) he said fine so I get out my license and CHL and give them both to him. He handed me back the CHL and says do you have proof of insurance? I hand the insurance card to him and it is expired (third damn!) told him I had an in date one and that I must have not changed over when I paid the last time. He says I will give you a warning goes to his car and runs me, comes back and gives me the warning and tells me to stay safe.
Even with all my screw ups it went well and I now know what to change for the next time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,470 Posts
Stopped for 5 over? Weak.

Of course there is no crime in Texas, so the LEO's have nothing better to do. (Unless he suspected you of something else)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
10,046 Posts
Wow... I'm shocked at 5 over! You can almost make a case for being a road hazard if you are expected to keep your eyes glued to speedometer instead of the road ahead.

Did I miss something? What is this "G word" that is so bad to say?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
133 Posts
Geez.
Dont get me wrong, I try to stay at the speed limit or lower, but here in Ohio I dont think many would pull a car over for 5 over in a 55.
Sounds like a LEO looking for donut and coffee funds.
But I guess if he just gave a warning, maybe not.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,765 Posts
The State Troopers job is traffic enforcement... He must have been having a slow day... When he ran your license, he had your current insurance info... Good stop though, everything turned out OK...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
133 Posts
Did I miss something? What is this "G word" that is so bad to say?
"gun"
We were taught to never tell a LEO that we have a gun.
Use 'firearm' or the make/model of your pistol, etc, instead.

I certainly am not interested in causing a LEO to get twitchy. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,484 Posts
I'm not shocked. I got a ticket in uniform from DPS for a license plate light out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,866 Posts
Getting stopped for driving 5 miles over the speed limit is not something that happens very often in FL :smile:

Anyway, for a few days ago I got stopped night time because the light turned to reed right after I start to cross the intersection. When I saw the lights behind me I pulled over as soon I could. I turned off the engine, opened the window and put my hands on the wheel. When the officer told me about what I have done I apologized for it (I really did not mean to do it; the speed limit was 50 miles and I estimated the time/distance wrong). He asked me if I had driver license, and then I handed it to him along with my CCW permit. He gave me the permit back and went to his car and run me. I kept my permit in my hand because I thought he did not see it. When he came back I handed it to him once again and he asked me why I was showing it again; I answered “because I am carrying a firearm”. Then he said, that is ok. I got I ticket and I was not glad because of it, but it was my fault. When done he told me to pay attention and say after he said “good night”. He was very professional and polite. A friend of mine got stopped once, and he was treated in the same way. Although not necessary, I always will show the driver license along with my CCW permit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,588 Posts
You are no longer required to tell an officer that you are a CHL or armed, unless he ask you.
When did that happen. Do you have that in print?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
50,596 Posts
You are no longer required to tell an officer that you are a CHL or armed, unless he ask you.

Mmmmm...something new?
This is from the TX site...


Issuing Authority:
Texas Department of Public Safety



Cost:
For most Texans, the license will cost $140. But for senior citizens or indigent Texans, the cost is only $70. For active/honorably retired peace officers or active/retired judicial officers, the cost is $25. For elected felony prosecuting attorneys, fee is waived.

Requirements:
To qualify for a Texas CHL you must:
1. Be 21 years old. (Members and former members of the armed forces must be 18.)
2. Have a clean criminal history, including military service and recent juvenile records.
3. Not be under a protective order.
4. Not be chemically dependent.
5. Not be of unsound mind.
6. Not be delinquent in paying fines, fees, child support, student loans, etc.
7. Be eligible to purchase a handgun by completing the NICS check.
8. Complete required training.

More information on the specifics of qualifying are available on the Texas Department of Public Safety site.

Informing Law Enforcement of Carry:
If a license holder is carrying a handgun on or about the license holder's person when a magistrate or a peace officer demands that the license holder display identification, the license holder shall display both the license holder's driver's license or identification certificate issued by the department and the license holder's handgun license. A person who fails or refuses to display the license and identification as required by this subsection is subject to suspension of the person's license as provided by Section 411.187.

So basically if the LEO asks for your ID, go ahead and give him both.


The above is just some of the info...:image035::smoke23:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
785 Posts
I certainly am not interested in causing a LEO to get twitchy. :)
Me, either. That's why I ALWAYS inform the officer I am armed and have a permit for it. It's required here in SC. The thing that'll REALLY make'em "twitchy" is finding or seeing a gun you haven't told them about. You'll end up examining the business end of a Glock and being fitted for chrome bracelets for a few minutes. LEOs don't like surprises.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
In Ohio, you are still required to advise the officer that you are a permit holder AND you are carrying.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
128 Posts
Mmmmm...something new?
This is from the TX site...


Issuing Authority:
Texas Department of Public Safety



Cost:
For most Texans, the license will cost $140. But for senior citizens or indigent Texans, the cost is only $70. For active/honorably retired peace officers or active/retired judicial officers, the cost is $25. For elected felony prosecuting attorneys, fee is waived.

Requirements:
To qualify for a Texas CHL you must:
1. Be 21 years old. (Members and former members of the armed forces must be 18.)
2. Have a clean criminal history, including military service and recent juvenile records.
3. Not be under a protective order.
4. Not be chemically dependent.
5. Not be of unsound mind.
6. Not be delinquent in paying fines, fees, child support, student loans, etc.
7. Be eligible to purchase a handgun by completing the NICS check.
8. Complete required training.

More information on the specifics of qualifying are available on the Texas Department of Public Safety site.

Informing Law Enforcement of Carry:
If a license holder is carrying a handgun on or about the license holder's person when a magistrate or a peace officer demands that the license holder display identification, the license holder shall display both the license holder's driver's license or identification certificate issued by the department and the license holder's handgun license. A person who fails or refuses to display the license and identification as required by this subsection is subject to suspension of the person's license as provided by Section 411.187.

So basically if the LEO asks for your ID, go ahead and give him both.


The above is just some of the info...:image035::smoke23:
Yes it is very new! HB 2730 Here is a reference to it:

Texas Department of Public Safety - New Traffic, Criminal Laws Set To Go Into Effect Sept. 1st, 2009
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,226 Posts
You are no longer required to tell an officer that you are a CHL or armed, unless he ask you.
Wrong from what I have heard. They removed the penalty, but you can still get hassled. Not worth it IMO.
HB 2730 removes DPS authority to suspend a concealed handgun license (CHL) for the holder’s
failure to display the CHL to a peace officer on demand. It removes associated penalties and suspensions for the failure to display.

And TC, are you sure you were doing EXACTLY 60 in a 55? Because every ticket I've gotten says "6-10 MPH over = $$$, 11-15 MPH over = $$$" etc etc... never says anything about 1-5 MPH... I can ask my LEO friend though...

Usually they give you a 5 MPH grace because you cannot be EXACTLY the speed limit, plus car speedometers are not EXACT. You can easily get any mechanic to say it was slightly off and get out of it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
128 Posts
And no, 5 over is not worthy of being pulled over. That officer was fishing for something bigger. I have been pulled over for "I stopped you because of where you came from". I was in my own neighborhood leaving my friend's house and going home 2 blocks away! He was sitting in an alleyway at the end of my friend's block when he saw me stop for the stop sign. He actually sniffed my truck to see if pot was in the air. I happened to be a white guy that still lives in a neighborhood that has turned, mainly, Hispanic. Can anyone say "Profiling"?

He repeated his reason for stopping me at least 4 times during the whole thing and every time he had no answer to my questions of 'What does that mean? I just told you who's house I came from and you said you do not want to go back and confirm that is where I came from! I asked you if David is under some kind of police watch and that you could not have possibly seen me leave there from where you were sitting anyway!' SO , WHAT DO YOU MEAN BY THAT?? He had the most befuddled look I've ever seen on an officer that's stopped me. Because it's not right what he did and he couldn't answer the honest questions concerning his statement. He stopped me 10 houses from my own and then told me to get home. I said I would already be there and in bed if he hadn't wasted both of our time. He had nothing to say and we parted ways.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
128 Posts
I believe HB 2730 came about because any officer of the law in Texas had the power to confiscate your license at his whim. It was way too much power and was getting abused.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,306 Posts
He asked where it was and I replied in my front RH pocket.
I said it is in my RH rear pocket (second not good thing damn!)
This is why I have switched to a small money clip that holds a couple of credit cards and my DL and CPL. I carry it in my LEFT front pocket so I don't have to reach towards my right hip or pocket to get out my DL. I carry IWB at 5:00 or so or right front pocket carry. I wouldn't want to have to reach to my right rear pocket to get my DL since in Michigan we are required to inform an officer.

I got the money clip/wallet at WalMart, I mean where else do you get anything these days. I joke with my wife that I am at Walmart on average 12 times a week. Sometimes it seems like it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
181 Posts
5 over is kinda stretching it a bit. There's a place in Louisiana that will write you up for 1 over which I think is bad business. If you travel the South stay away from Golden Meadow, LA. Personally I no longer travel there or provide them the benefit of my locally spent $$. Just a warning.. Good LEO encounter though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
187 Posts
I believe HB 2730 came about because any officer of the law in Texas had the power to confiscate your license at his whim. It was way too much power and was getting abused.
I believe it had more to do with the fact that people who don't have a CHL are allowed to have a gun in the car and are not required to inform. As has been stated, CHL holders are still required to show their CHL if asked for ID while carrying. Also, keep in mind that this is not restricted to traffic stops. It is any time you are asked for ID while carrying.
 
1 - 20 of 57 Posts
Top