Defensive Carry banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was browsing gunbroker.com tonight. I cam across a ak 47 pistol. It is technically, by law, a pistol that fires a rifle round. My initial though was that this would be the ultimate gun to carry in a vehicle. This in my opinion would greatly surpass the Taurus Judge in stopping power, and defiantly in penetration (for most applications to much). Unless i am missing something, i don't see how this would be a legal issue. I am a resident of Michigan. Any thoughts pertaining to the legalities to this would be appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
721 Posts
I have no first-hand experience, but if it is as reliable as my rifle and shoots a 7.62, that's a truck gun with some serious thump and excellent capacity... I think I read somewhere that accuracy suffers with distance, but you aren't shooting anything further than 40 yards out with a truck gun, right...?

·
Registered
6 Posts
i also have no first hand experience with SBR legalities, but one would assume that if it's legally a pistol, you can treat it like a pistol in every way. a SBR AR15 is one thing i plan to do in the future for exactly this purpose, but i haven't looked into it that deeply.

one thing i have heard though, is that AR/AK pistols have to follow the "once a pistol, always a pistol... once a rifle, always a rifle" rule. if the AK pistol was once a rifle and was converted, i don't think it's technically considered a pistol and therefore cannot be concealed as such...without the NFA paperwork for a SBR of course. i think it has to be 'born' as a pistol... as in purchased, assembled, and registered (if your state has gun registration) as a pistol.