Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have not been carrying for long, but after joining this forum I feel I have learned a lot. I DO NOT think I am an expert, as I am assuming no one here feels they are. I do have a military background and at the least understand weapons handling. In the next few months I plan on finding a defensive carry course which me and my 2 friends can attend.

I got my CCP shortly after a friend of mine got his. He does not carry daily for personal reasons which I feel are not important here. I am trying to teach him all I can, and he more than wants to learn how to properly carry. He even just bought himself his first semiauto since he has been carrying a small J-Frame since he got his CCP :35:. Though I still cant convince him he needs to remember to wear a belt all the time, not to mention buy a few t-shirts that fall a little lower than what he has been wearing.

My second friend just bought his first S&W M&P Compact .40 :35: and applied for his CCP. He too does not understand the concept of dressing around the gun.

Lastly, we were in the local gun shop and I pointed out some good holsters for them to look at. I was with my dad and he wanted to get a move on the range time. We went in, and my cheap buddies went and bought Uncle Mike's holsters. I dont want to bad mouth these products, but I pointed out good leather holsters for them.

My question is, how can I get through to these guys? :confused:

·
Registered
651 Posts
Don't give it too much attention. The learning curve is long and slow for the cheap crowd. Maximize what works for you and lead by example when asked. Money is tight for many of us, but life is not valued in money. It is hard to separate this mind set for some folks. Continue to be informative and kind to your friends, but realize this is all personal choice. Good luck to you, john

·
Registered
1,513 Posts