Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to carrying concealed. How do you get past the feeling that everyone is looking at you and seeing your pistol? We now have open carry here in Texas,so it's not illegal to be seen, but I can't get past that feeling that everyone is seeing my concealed pistol. How do you get past that feeling?

·
Super Moderator
16,786 Posts
When I first started carrying it felt like I had a huge neon sign over my head flashing “I have a gun”. It did not take long before I realized that most people are so self absorbed in their own little world that unless something bumped then on the nose or knocked their phone out of their hands they had no clue as to what was going on around them.

·
Registered
141 Posts
I think the more important question is do you feel you are doing something wrong by carrying a pistol? I ask this because without the feeling of doing something wrong there wouldn't be a subconscious feeling of being looked at. I think you have to remind yourself there is nothing wrong with carrying a gun and it doesn't matter if your noticed by another person. It similar to people that try to smuggle drugs through airports and get all flustered and get caught by security. Now if someone didn't have anything to worry about then they would care less if sucurity was looking at them. Sorry it's the only example I can think of.

·
Premium Member
773 Posts
I have been carrying since Feb. 2014 and it took me only a few days to not think everyone was looking at me. As many others have said, people are so pre-occupied with looking elsewhere instead of looking at you. As an example when I walk down the street or in a store, etc. I have good SA but I am not looking at everyone to see if I can tell if they have a gun or not.