Defensive Carry banner
1 - 20 of 152 Posts

·
Registered
11,507 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am sure that many of us have been down this road, but I think I may have finally reached the end. It took me a long time (12 years) but I have been reflecting back to where I am now (funny how you do more of that the older you get).

A little over 12 years ago, I started training in firearms with a police firearms instructor in Ventura, California. The first pistol he had me shoot was a Gen 3 Glock 17, and I thought it was great (and I still think it is a remarkable pistol in terms of the engineering behind it). I bought one from my instructor (he had an FFL and at the time sold firearms, too). I did not know or understand that there were other Glock models.

Probably three months into my training I began to realize that there were a lot of other choices in the Glock world. It was also the time my wife started to train, too (she had taken a full semester of police firearms at a community college 38 years prior). We needed a second pistol, so I purchased a Glock 22 Gen 3. I shot it worse than I did the G17, but since it was the pistol of the day, and .40 caliber was popular, I persisted.

It was perhaps a few months after that I decided to try a Glock 27, because it was more concealable, which in California is a definite concern for CCW holders. I couldn’t shoot that any better than I did the G22; actually I definitely shot it worse. I traded it in short order for a G26.

I continued to carry the G26 for the rest of the time we lived in California (improving very slowly), but shortly before we moved had the opportunity to shoot several full size Sig P220s in both DA/SA and DAK models. I was amazed at how well they shot (or how well I shot them), but did not pursue the issue at the time.