Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,226 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i've been thinking about getting an AR (Maybe an AK or M4) for a long time, but the price tag is a little high at the moment... Then I was thinking about what size round I'd like, and I started thinking about getting a .22 due to the fact the ammo seems to be dirt cheap and the only thing I can count on Walmart keeping in stock...

This is purely a "fun gun"... Not exactly what I'd grab if someone was breaking into my house...

I was thinking about the GSG-5 (MP5 clone) in .22LR.

(Here's a link.)

I have to admit I love the MP5 design, and it seems reasonably priced.

Feedback? Should I go with a different size round? Different gun? It wouldn't take any sort of beating... it'd sit in the gun safe until I took it to the range...

Basically, I'm a newbie when it comes to rifles and the such... I'm not looking for anything for real long distance (obviously)...

Since I have a 9mm pistol, should I get a 9mm carbine? It could serve more home defense i guess... just the ammo is a little harder to come by (can still get some though) and more expensive.

I value you guy's opinions. Thanks.

·
Registered
5,327 Posts
Just in the LGS yesterday...the saleman says the GSG is an excellent fun gun and is very accurate. He did say that youhave to run quality hi-vel ammo to keep them runnign but hsaid he cant keep them in stock either.

·
Registered
335 Posts
Everyone should have at least 1 .22 "fun" gun.

The Ruger 10/22 is a good shooter and very versatile with all of the accessories available. The Ruger runs around $200 and add one of dozens of aftermarket stocks for whatever look you like for another $100. That's a lot cheaper option. The Ruger isn't fussy about ammo in my experience.

·
Registered
192 Posts