Defensive Carry banner

Do you carry your folder tip up or tip down?

• I carry mine up

Votes: 86 69.4%
  • I carry mine down

Votes: 38 30.6%
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are the arguments for carrying your folder with the tip pointing up or down? I'm new to the whole idea of carrying it tip up and was wondering what everyone's opinions were.

·
Registered
22,908 Posts
Tip up, so as you unfold it, the tip is down. Safer and quicker to deploy. What not to like?

·
Registered
473 Posts
I prefer tip up like my Kershaw or CRKT, but my SOG is tip down which i cant get used to very easily.

·
Super Moderator
50,596 Posts
Tip up when folded and clipped to my pocket...easy retrieval and open.:hand10:

·
Registered
929 Posts
For the few out there like myself wondering "what the heck are they talking about", I'll be the sacrificial lamb to take the slings & arrows, & take point for the dumb brigade to ask ... "what the heck is this poll referring to"? What is a "folder" ... & "tip" of what in regards to CC & firearms?

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Don't worry, I had to figure all this stuff out too. Folder is a reference to a folding knife instead of a fixed blade. Most upper end knives these days give you the option of placing the clip on the knife on either end of the handle. This gives you the option of carrying the knife clipped to your pocket with the tip or point of the blade pointing down towards the ground or pointing up towards the sky.

·
Registered
396 Posts
Tip up when folded and clipped to my pocket...easy retrieval and open.:hand10:
Yep, Just like that for me as well. I practice allot pulling and opening, I can retrieve the knife and open it (Bench Made Griptilion) faster then my Boker auto that I also carry on a daily basis.

·
Registered
921 Posts
Tip up in left (support) clipped high on the left pocket.

I place my left hand in my pocket fingers curled around the knife, index finger on the A/O flipper.