Defensive Carry banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm taking the family to Mount Rainier this week, and I wondered about taking my carry weapon. I currently possess a Texas CHL, but apparently Washington does NOT have reciprocity with Texas for conceal carry...and it seems you can't even have a loaded weapon in your automobile.

However, it is my understanding that "open carry" is legal in Washington.

Can I open carry my weapon in Seattle?

Can I open carry my weapon in Mount Rainier State Park?

Or...should I just leave my guns at home and trust the authorities to protect me and my family?

Any advice is greatly appreciate

·
Registered
631 Posts
Washington State law, as I understand it and I am not a lawyer is you can open carry as long as you are not "inciting fear". Walking through Seattle wont fly. The Eastern side of the state they are pretty laid back, I used to live in Naches and Ellensburg. My friend open carried in a Walmart in Spokane. The only kicker is you cannot have a loaded firearm in your vehicle. Last time I read up on the law was about 8 years ago, and my interpretation is you can have a gun in the vehicle say the glove box, or dash, but it cannot be loaded.

I was just in Washington State last week visiting my parents, and I played it safe. I left the guns in the trunk of my car. On the way home when I saw "Welcome to Idaho" I pulled over and kept a loaded firearm in my glove box for the remaining 5 hour drive home.

Oh ya did I mention I am not a lawyer?

·
Registered
3,148 Posts
Can you please elaborate on "Walking through Seattle won't fly."