Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to the process of purchasing a firearm. I was arrested for DUI and CHARGED with misdemeanor possession about 5 years ago. I plead not guilty to all charges. I ended up being convicted of reckless driving and the possession charge was dismissed. I do not have any other record aside from this. When I attempted to purchase a rifle a few weeks ago, I was told that NICS was backed up for weeks. I received notification a few days ago that my background came back as "unresolved". Has anybody had any experience with this? Would this alone bar me from purchasing and owning a gun? I am in Nevada. From my understanding, only a CONVICTION would bar me from this. Also, it is my understanding that after 3 days with no response through NICS, the FFL can allow the transfer at their discretion. Any thoughts on how I should proceed?

·
Premium Member
4,569 Posts
Speak with a licensed attorney in your state. No one here can offer anything other than an uninformed opinion.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I get that, I wasn't looking for legal council on the matter through a forum. I just thought maybe someone would have some more insight or experience with delayed or unresolved backgrounds.

·
Registered
34,723 Posts
"Unresolved" generally means the charges are showing up on your record without the final resolution (acquitted, dropped, etc.). If that is your case, expect to possibly have to provide documentation showing the lowered/dropped charges.

·
Registered
892 Posts
First, welcome to the forum! Great group of knowledgeable folks here, so I hope you stick around and glean as much expertise as possible from the members here. I've benefited greatly by perusing this forum for several years now.