Defensive Carry banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
My first experience with the carbines (M1 and M2) was in Vietnam. When US forces first went to Vietnam (1950's) and when the first US combat units were deployed (1960's) the carbines were standard US issue weapons. Prior to that time the US provided thousands of carbines to Ho Chi Minh's forces resisting Japanese occupation during WW2. After that time the US provided thousands more to South Vietnamese forces.

The carbines are a very handy and reliable weapon. Not nearly as accurate as other rifles (M1, M14, M16) of the period, but certainly useful to 150 yards or so and much more effective than a handgun.

Shortly after leaving the Army and joining the police department I acquired a M1 Carbine to carry in my patrol car. Later, as a detective I kept the carbine handy also. Went over to a state agency where I worked as an investigator covering nearly half the State of Colorado, and I kept a carbine in my trunk all the time.

Now I am retired. The carbine still goes along on road trips. Between road trips it is kept handy at home as a defensive weapon. My carbine is a 1943 Inland (General Motors) piece, kept with a Korea-vintage Seymour 30-round magazine ready to go and two 15-round Inland mags in a stock pouch.

About 40 years ago I purchased a case of Norma 110-grain JHP ammo, which I am still using for defensive purposes. Used to be able to order GI-surplus ammo through Civilian Marksmanship Program, but haven't seen that for quite some time. I have been reloading .30 Carbine for many years using a hard cast 115-grain RN-FP mold (actual weight as cast with my alloy is 109 grains). My 77-year old carbine will still shoot 4-6" groups at 100 yards with just about any ammo I have tried.

·
Registered
1,444 Posts