Defensive Carry banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a Virginia resident with a valid CHP and am going to Nags Head next week. I have read the laws for carrying in my vehicle in NC and am thoroughly confused. Can someone familiar with NC laws please educate me on how I can carry my handgun in my vehicle in NC? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,376 Posts
NC honors all state issued permits. Sadly, it don't work the other way around.
However, North Carolina and Virginia do share reciprocity agreements.

Reactions: piguy

·
Registered
3,890 Posts
I carry the same in my vehicle as I do anywhere else, concealed !! But in NC it's fine loaded in the open . With your Va. chp your is also ok in a console or glove box loaded too . Why carry off your body ?? Just have a good lock box if going for a swim . Hate to arm a BG if your cars broken into .

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I carry the same in my vehicle as I do anywhere else, concealed !! But in NC it's fine loaded in the open . With your Va. chp your is also ok in a console or glove box loaded too . Why carry off your body ?? Just have a good lock box if going for a swim . Hate to arm a BG if your cars broken into .
So I can place it in the center console between the front seats and that is an acceptable place to transport it?

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
OK. Cool. Thanks for all your responses.

·
Registered
3,472 Posts
Just don't forget that NC requires that you notify LE immediately if approached for an official interaction. I'd also recommend that if approached, notify verbally and not just hand your permit to the officer. The statutes say you must notify immediately and if requested by the officer provide permit and ID.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Additionally, I believe you cannot carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. That's a different requirement than concealed carrying in VA.

·
Registered
3,890 Posts