Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been curious about this for a while, I am new to CC and I can imagine once you are used to being armed everyday it must be very strange to go somewhere for vacation and be unarmed. It also seems to me that when away from home is probably when we are most at risk.
Because of course when away we may not know what area's to avoid. Does anyone here travel only to states where they can carry?

·
Registered
358 Posts
I try to only visit states that I can carry in.......and New York isn't one of them. Sorry noticed your avatar said NY....

·
Registered
4,287 Posts
I have been curious about this for a while, I am new to CC and I can imagine once you are used to being armed everyday it must be very strange to go somewhere for vacation and be unarmed. It also seems to me that when away from home is probably when we are most at risk.
Because of course when away we may not know what area's to avoid. Does anyone here travel only to states where they can carry?
If I have a choice. Sometimes the job takes me places I would rather not go, but it pays the bills, so I go. For personal time, only if visiting the wife's family will I go where I would otherwise not go. I don't like it, but sometimes you just have to do it.

·
Premium Member
7,465 Posts
I have a PA non-resident permit, which in conjunction with my SC resident permit, allows me to carry just about anywhere that I'd care to visit.

Of course, PA is getting ready to drop their non-resident permit, so I plan on getting a Utah non-resident before they drop-kick me.

Here's where you can research your options: Concealed Carry Permit Reciprocity Maps - USA Carry

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I try to only visit states that I can carry in.......and New York isn't one of them. Sorry noticed your avatar said NY....