Defensive Carry banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never used a shoulder holster before, but I think I'd like it. I'm thinking I could replace a couple buttons on my shirt with velcro, and make it easy to access my pistol. I'm a contractor, and don't want to be caught printing; I don't know how some of my customers would react. I've been using my LC9 in an appendix method, but it is uncomfortable driving or bending, so I know my g27 won't work well that way. Any thoughts on my method or a good choice for a shoulder holster? Most of the options I have found are for horizontal carry, which I don't think would work well for me, I'm small framed.

·
Registered
301 Posts
My limited experience with shoulder holsters is a shirt alone doesn't cover well. Good to go with a jacket - until you take it off.

-------------------------------------------
I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, that's what I read elsewhere, but hoping someone will have experience how to make it happen. Are there other tradesmen out there who carry (I'm sure there are), how do you carry a compact? I can where my shirt untucked, maybe I could try inside the waist band at 5 o'clock. I guess I just need to try a few things, but don't have a lot of $ to burn.

·
Registered
2,220 Posts
A maintenance vest works well for me. It's a CCW vest, but I had to build a proper holster in the inside pocket as the vertical velcro retention is great for carry, cut deadly to you on the slow, cumbersome draw as you fight to lift with no head space and then spin it. Now it's a straight draw out, with muzzle and butt roughly level.

·
Registered
697 Posts
Stoner makes a fine shoulder holster. All leather, very adjustable, and very comfortable. It doesn't print under a shirt and carry position is vertical. Mag carriers may be attached to the opposing side. I highly recommend them.

·
Registered
12,760 Posts