Defensive Carry banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Banned
2,094 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had this thing since the mid 80's and never used it as it the only knife I own that will not get razor sharp. Does anyone have one, if so what is the secret to sharpen this? Been using stones of various grades with no real success.

·
Premium Member
4,254 Posts
Maybe like a bar of soap, it hardened over time.......

I had one of those classics back in the day. I can't remember having an issue with getting the right edge other than it took a 6 pack to get there.

·
Registered
504 Posts
OP, could you provide a little more information? What are you sharpening it on? How proficient are you at sharpening, what kind of steel is it? How is the blade ground? Flat? Hollow? Convex? I'm not an expert at sharpening but there are people on this forum who know alot more than I do and they can help with more info....

·
Registered
12,686 Posts
Talk with AzQkr, he's the Mac DADDY of sharpening things (skins squirrels with a beach-ball). IMHO, that Buck has never had the original correct bevel to begin with. And correcting it is noTORIOUSLY difficult. I'd start with the diamond rods in a Spyerco Sharpmaker to set the bevel, then work down thru the stones & ceramic rods until it suits you. Good news? Once it's done (correctly) a quick-lick or two will then easily...keep it there. :yup:

Good Luck & let us know!

·
Registered
7,556 Posts
I have had my Buck 110 for about 30 years. I use Arkansas soapstone and a leather strop. You have to work at it but once sharpened the old Buck holds that edge pretty well.

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
I find that once you lose a factory grind it is hard to sharpen. I can sharpen pretty well, but unless you are really good at putting on a new grind it will probably remain difficult to sharpen. I still have a Spyderco which has a grind that is shot, it's sharp...as long as I don't try to cut anything. Lol

·
Registered
8,274 Posts