Defensive Carry banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

I'm reading through my state's (Washington state) RCW's and have a few questions on RCW 9.41.300 on places prohibited to carry.

RCW 9.41.300: Weapons prohibited in certain places?Local laws and ordinances?Exceptions?Penalty.

I have been reading around that a lot of local business such as costco, target, safeway and others have a no firearm carry policy at
their establishments.

I am new to concealed carry and always abide by the laws, but nowhere in these RCW's can I find anything about their rules carrying
any law whatsoever. If they notice, for whatever reason, that I am concealing my firearm, would they just ask me to leave and i'd
simply have to agree to do so since it is technically a private property establishment?

It just seems kind of ridiculous that literally every location around my area has some form of a no firearm policy (in which I can find no
law saying their policy carries any law). I'm not questioning my 2nd here, and I know there has been some buzz about establishments
and their firearm policies, but if their policy carries no laws, I'm feeling like my business is better dealt elsewhere at this point.

My local starbucks was robbed and shot up a while back, and everytime I stop by, I still see their no firearm signs. Oh, the irony.

Is it just a better sort of judgement at this point?

·
Registered
4,130 Posts
You are wise to seek answers to these questions. The above link is a good one that you should become familiar with. You should also continue reading the actual RCW's to which Handgunlaw.us refers.