Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
281 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This was posted in another thread which I don't wish to hijack:

I am a NRA Instructor and part of our mission is to educate the masses, including law enforcement on the proper terms to use. When asked if I had a weapon in the vehicle, I replied: "With all due respect officer, I do have a firearm in the vehicle. Weapon suggests offensive and my firearms are solely for my defense and the defense of my family."
I'm not an NRA member (though I might become one) and just don't get this distinction. If I look up weapon in the dictionary, I get this:

M-W: something (as a club, knife, or gun) used to injure, defeat, or destroy

Free dictionary and 3 other sites:
1) an instrument or device of any kind used to injure or kill, as in fighting or hunting
2) any organ or part of an organism used for attacking or defending
any means of attack or defense
3) A means used to defend against or defeat another

If I look up firearm I get:

M-W: a weapon from which a shot is discharged by gunpowder —usually used of small arms

Freedictionary: A weapon, especially a pistol or rifle, capable of firing a projectile and using an explosive charge as a propellant.

It sounds to me that a firearm sure is a weapon and there's nothing about the term that implies offense any more than defense.

Why does the NRA get their underwear in a bunch over this and try and re-define a term? Seems like foofaraw to me.

·
Registered
2,858 Posts
My .02 is that replying the leo question. That a weapon is something that may/can hurt the officer, where as a firearm is implying that you would only use a firearm in defense of yourself and not on the offense to hurt the leo.

·
Registered
40,353 Posts
Every firearm is a weapon. Not every weapon is a firearm. A weapon can be used either offensively or defensively.

The quoted person is making a play on words and should try politics instead. Sounds like standard NRA talk to me.