Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm waiting for my carry permit to come in and I'm trying to figure out what I want to carry. To start with I'm a rookie shooter. I've shot a shotgun a half dozen times and I've shot 3 pistols. I've got a retired marine from church that's teaching me to shoot. He's a 1911 guy and had some old Israeli BHPs. The first time I came out there to shoot I had borrowed my preachers LC9 and shot it and the hi-power.

Obviously, the BHP was much easier to handle/fun to shoot. Being a new shooter, I really didnt like the recoil of the LC9. I kept flinching when I shot and would even close my eyes toward the end of the trigger pull sometimes. So I bought the BHP. I'm kindling of kicking myself right now, but I own a gun, so that's good and I can always sell it.

But the idea of carrying a single action cocked and locked freaks me out at the moment. I think for a carry gun I want to be able to just point and shoot and rely on a holster so I don't accidentally shoot my self in the leg...or somewhere else.

Considering I didn't like the recoil of the lc9, what would you suggest for a new shooter with low recoil and preferably 9mm? Though I would be willing to carry a .380 or .38 revolver as well. I'm leaning towards a revolver some days anyway.

How would a glock 19 or 26 compare to the lc9? What about the XD9 sub? I like the idea of the grip safety. I wouldn't mind carrying cocked and locked in that situation as much. Plus, I've already put about 200 rounds through a 1911 style gun so that is what I'm most comfortable with, but I'm so new that really doesn't matter.

Oh and I usually wear dress khakis/slacks with either a polo or dress shirt, except on Sundays I'm in a suit and tie. I'm a little stocky, 5'6" 220. So I'm thinking something small enough to go in a wallet-like pocket holster.

I know that's a lot, but I would appreciate any help.

·
Registered
110 Posts