Defensive Carry banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8,147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This may seem like a really dumb question, but I am curious: I have been shooting handguns for 50+ years, including competition and a lot of courses, although I'm sure there many here with more experience than me. For 45 of those years, I never had a light primer strike. But the last two guns I bought, a Sig P290 RS and an S&W .380 Bodyguard, have given me multiple light strikes with some ammo, ammo that was supposed to be good stuff. Usually, the rounds will go on the second strike, although once it took four strikes with recently manufactured factory new, brand named ammo. Also, there have been multiple threads recently about light strikes, including with a Glock.

My questions to the experts on this:
  • Are some primers getting harder to ignite? If so why?
  • Are some gun hammer/firing pin and/or strikers getting weaker? If so, why?
  • Is this a recent phenomenon or was I just lucky all those years?
  • What is the solution?

·
Registered
3,262 Posts
I have also had a few light strikes in the past decade but I have been able to attribute those to deep-seated primers. Subsequent rounds in the same magazine from the same batch of ammo proved to be fine so the problem was not with the firearm but rather with the ammunition. Go back perhaps eight of ten years from those and I had some problems with Norinco 9mm rounds failing to fire, also apparently from deeply seated primers.

·
Registered
8,147 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have also had a few light strikes in the past decade but I have been able to attribute those to deep-seated primers. Subsequent rounds in the same magazine from the same batch of ammo proved to be fine so the problem was not with the firearm but rather with the ammunition. Go back perhaps eight of ten years from those and I had some problems with Norinco 9mm rounds failing to fire, also apparently from deeply seated primers.