Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,762 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to simi's, about a year, but I hear lots of talk of mag failures. I'm over 5k rounds on my XDm 9mm 4k one one mag another thousand spread between 2 or three other mags and no issues yet.

When they fail, what fails?
Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
(a) Base plate comes off, cartridges and magazine innards fall out.

(b)While carrying the pistol on the left side, you lean against something that depresses the mag release; next time the mag points down it falls out.

·
Registered
2,645 Posts
Spring breaks and rounds will not feed right.

Mag failure is over discussed. I have been shooting several thousands of rounds per year in all kinds of guns for over 45 years. Only once have I had a mag fail and that was due to damage.

Buy quality mags and you likely will never have it happen to you.

·
Premium Member
6,050 Posts
Sometimes they go gently into the good night, other times, well, it's quite a show.

I've had magazines that become unreliable over time for various reasons, springs, lips, etc. One Glock mag I recall unfondly threw a porpoise round up thru the ejection port. Never seen that one before. When the mag was removed from the pistol all the remaining rounds, the follower, and the spring ejected upwards. A mag lip had cracked and the results were dynamic.

Combat Tupperware, what more can be said.

·
Premium Member
24,511 Posts
Probably one of the most common problems is they get dirty and the follower sticks. Routine dis-assembly and cleaning will resolve this issue.

·
Registered
36,326 Posts
Folks have pretty much mentioned the issues, above.

I've had:
  • The follower get tilted/stuck, causing the next round to nose-dive or go tip-up, getting stuck when it attempts to feed.
  • The lips on the magazine get out of shape, causing improper angle of the cartridge when it attempts to feed.