Defensive Carry banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I've had my Kimber Solo for over a year now. I carry it on warmer days when I'm wearing shorts or in an ankle holster when I'm wearing a suit at work. I have close to 1000 rds through it and have not had any problems. The street ammo I've been using is 127grn Ranger T +p+. I've been reading about 147grn HST and it sounds like a good, effective round. I am looking for opinions on what would be a better round for a short barrel pistol (eg. deeper penetration) a lighter faster round like the Ranger T or a slower heavier round like the HST. Thanks.

·
Registered
2,569 Posts
You're going to get all kinds of opinions on heavy/slower and lighter/faster 9mm bullets. I carry 124 grain Speer Gold Dot +P Short Barrel in my Kahr PM9, simply because I've had a lot of good experiences with Speer Gold Dots feeding consistently. IMO, shot placement is going to be much more important than the round you choose. So try a few boxes and see which one you shoot better with.

Reactions: Stevew

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yup, I hear you loud and clear on shot placement and agree. I guess I should have phrased my question better. More specifically, out of a short barrel what is a deeper penetrator, light/fast or slow/heavy?

·
Registered
350 Posts
You're going to get all kinds of opinions on heavy/slower and lighter/faster 9mm bullets. I carry 124 grain Speer Gold Dot +P Short Barrel in my Kahr PM9, simply because I've had a lot of good experiences with Speer Gold Dots feeding consistently. IMO, shot placement is going to be much more important than the round you choose. So try a few boxes and see which one you shoot better with.
^^^ My thoughts, exactly. ^^^

I've had the same experience with Speer Gold Dots; they are loaded in every pistol that I own, except for the FiveseveN. If Speer made Gold Dots in 5.7x28, I would buy them.

·
Registered
378 Posts