Defensive Carry banner
1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been jonesing for a custom 1911 for a long time, and I'm about ready to take the plunge! If you could buy anything you wanted, which of these bad boys would you own? Is the Nighthawk really worth the $3500 they want in comparison to a Les Baer at $2100? Wiley Clapp at $1500 looks good, but I'd like night sights instead of the brass bead up front. Is there really any difference in the way a WC shoots in comparison to the more expensive guns? If you've got a custom 1911, why did you buy it and how does it shoot?

Thanks in advance for your response!

·
Registered
11,157 Posts
A nighthawk custom...I do not own one, but if I were in the market for a custom it would be one of these...

Nighthawk Custom

·
Registered
3,087 Posts
You have to think there are diminishing returns, and at some point you are paying for either materials that aren't necessary (gold bead front sight for example) or a brand name. Even those who spend an arm and a leg on a top notch match barrel - most people aren't going to benefit much from a gun that is more accurate than they are. I would keep it simple, with a high quality gun, that isn't ostentatious.

My preference would be a Les Baer 1911 Prowler 3. Perfect combination of quality, accuracy, and without unnecessary materials and features.

·
Registered
12,686 Posts