Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been buying guns for almost 5 years now and I've had a couple of glocks in my past but sold them when times got bad. I was in college at the time and needed money sometimes. Now I kind of want to get another glock but I'm not too sure which one to get first. I was thinking getting the 26 first and then stock up on a few glock 19 mags so that when I get the 19, I'll already have a lot of mags. I want to get both of them eventually but which one do you guys think I should get first?

Thanks in advance for you advice!

·
Registered
436 Posts
My vote is for the 19. I can't seem to get a proper grip on a 26, so w/o a g19 mag, it is unusable for me. I even toyed with the idea of getting a 26, add mags for the 19 (with X-grip sleeves), and tried it out at my LGS. Turned out that if I did that, I had a G19 that was stamped with a G26 label, and maybe a half inch shorter slide. I decided that since I already had a G19, that I didn't need another one whose only differences were the shorter slide and a G26 label, especially since my 19 shoots so well.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Now that I think about it, getting the 19 would work for me better until I do get my license. Especially for home defense. I will definitely keep it in mind when I go to the gun store to make a purchase.

·
Registered
6,374 Posts
I think you are on the right track. A G-26 with G-19 mags and G-26 mags is a very versatile handgun that can full fill SD, HD, and CC roles. Good luck!

·
Registered
9,439 Posts
If you aren't going to use it for concealed carry, I'd go with a 19, or maybe even a larger frame. If you do plan to use whichever you get first for concealed carry, get whichever you will be the most comfortable carrying.

·
Premium Member
500 Posts