Votes: 24 32.9%
  • I don't practice hand to hand combat

Votes: 33 45.2%
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
537 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recent thoughts about what to do if disarmed by an attacker and/or being attacked in an area that prohibits firearms has lead me to start taking Brazilian jiu-jitsu lessons. I plan to also take kickboxing or krav maga lessons down the road. What martial art(s) do you practice for personal defense?

·
Registered
351 Posts
I started training BJJ in April, I'm hooked! Already I can say that the thought of an unarmed encounter and/or being taken to the ground by an assailant is less intimidating than before. Im happy to start putting things in my self defense toolkit that was over-reliant on my firearm. So much more to learn!

·
Banned
3,342 Posts
Personally, I think sub-grappling and BJJ are the best MA to pair with use of firearms combatively. I'd urge everyone to get a look at Marc Denny's 'Die Less Often' video series which he does with Gabe Suarez a firearms expert. There is a need to know how fight with your firearm that target practice alone will not cover.

In addition to target practice, one should attempt to get some exposure to a performance-related aspect such as simmunition training and/or paintball gaming to give you an 'external' aspect to your experience. Target practice is internal (about the gun). Simmunition is external (opponent-related).

Just remember that all training has a degradation effect, and you can't practice all ranges and skills all the times. You get a 'ring rust' phenomenon.

So rather than trying to learn kickboxing or KM, which would further dilute your focus, I would concentrate on the aspects closely related with the firearm.