Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So a quick forum search didn't provide an answer.

Which form or style of martial art lends itself best to gunfighting. I've seen Krav Maga has some pretty brutal disarming techniques, but I'm talking about a kind of fighting that treats the gun like Kendo treats the sword.

What do you guys and gals know, or think?

·
Registered
1,080 Posts
I'm no expert, I'm just a lowly blue belt in Okinawan Kempo, but it was my understanding that the basis of most martial arts were formed before firearms were prevelant, which is one reason why Kendo is an art for the sword. In my humble opinion you're better off looking for an instructor who is firearm friendly and who can tailor an art to you.

For example I spent much of Saturday afternoon giving an impromptu lesson in basic firearms to the rest of my martial arts class. (When I was supposed to go to Iraq I had practiced disarms with me sensei, and I had recently mentioned that I wanted to include them into class. So he did.) Afterwards we practiced disarms.

Point is we were taking traditional tecniques and applying them to modern day situations. Like I said before, look for a sensei who will tailor a program for you, even if it means sending you into a different art.

P.S.- Being pistol whipped, even lightly with just a red gun really really hurts.

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I guess that's what I'm asking. Which discipline best adapts itself to the use of guns? If a style has heavy emphasis on kicking, then that's probably not the one, but a style that focuses on straight punches might be adapted.

Didn't Steven Segal adapt Akido training to pistols. It seems I heard he was a pretty good shooter.

·
Registered
17,352 Posts
Segal is supposed to be a pretty good shoot not sure if he adapted Akido style or not to help him ..

Only Art i pratice is the Art of Big boom so im not much help on this topic ..

·
Premium Member